from vista back to xp

Discussion in 'Archive' started by stormboy, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. stormboy

    stormboy Guest

    some help please. the computer I have came with vista home basic on it but I prefer XP. I reformated & put XP on but have no internet connection. In devise manager I tried to fix this but a sign saying cant find the drivers comes up.

    I have put vista back on for now as I couldn't get onto the net to even search for a fix. How do I go about fixing this do I have to copy my Lan sttings from vista to a disc or something Help!:s5:
     
  2. Sephiroth

    Sephiroth Guest

    Okay, it is assumed now, that you have a working vista home basic edition with internet. If yes, then please D/L one small utility called everest (Use our search box). It will tell you about all the components in your system & will help you in identifying your lan (ethernet) controller for which you require Xp drivers. Also if you could check your internet settings for proxy server, dns server & gateway info (if it's required) & copy them in Xp lan conf.
     
  3. stormboy

    stormboy Guest

    Do I then copy them onto a disc or usb drive & then when I go to put XP back on & it says if I want to install drivers press F6 or something. And thanks for your help so far.
     
  4. fabianledes

    fabianledes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude, here are some detailed
    instructions i posted for that.

    Code:
    http://www.forumdivx.com/showthread.php?t=148278
     
  5. sickofdtv

    sickofdtv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Excellent lar.man
     
  6. stormboy

    stormboy Guest

    Thanks lal.man I had no problem placing XP on I just had no ethernet ect:
     
  7. sickofdtv

    sickofdtv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just done this for 3 people.

    1)Find out what ethernet adapter is installed in your machine.
    2)Find the drivers for that adapter and put them on your desktop.
    3)Go to device manager and update new drivers for the network adapter (pointing to the ones on desktop if necessary.)
    4)Restart computer

    Hope this works for you

    OOPs! Do not forget to reset your router if necessary.
     
  8. Sephiroth

    Sephiroth Guest

    There is another catch to it, sometimes manufacturing/assembling companies don't provide proper support. For eg. if they want to force vista down your CPU, then they will provide no drivers for XP. A famous eg. of this type of company is creative & their support of sound blaster live cards. They even block other guys from making a hacked driver. So good luck with your driver hunting.
     
  9. sickofdtv

    sickofdtv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My nieces beau downgraded and brought it to me, no sound,ethernet, dvd . These components were installed on Hp. Took a long time to find all three. I tell everyone. Before you start downgrading find drivers for every piece of hardware in your machine. Then go for it. Some like HP try to make it virtually impossible, but it can be done with a little patience and perserverance. Always make a backup.


    If can't find driver give us a holler.
     
  10. stormboy

    stormboy Guest

    Thanks for all the help but I was thinking how would I go using the vista back up disc would I be able to copy them from it when I'm asked to choose a location?
     
  11. sickofdtv

    sickofdtv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The drivers on there probably won't work, but won't hurt to try. I only got one to work out of the many.
     
  12. Sephiroth

    Sephiroth Guest

    Stormboy ...let's start from the beginning. Please post the "Name & Model" of your laptop along with a coded link to company's web page. The hunt for drivers will then commence! Also if you could tell what Operating system is currently installed on it.
     
  13. stormboy

    stormboy Guest

    Compaq Presario SR5025AN-b Windows Vista Basic Re: The coded Link where do I find that?
     
  14. Sephiroth

    Sephiroth Guest

    Use this utility to properly identify your hardware correctly:
    Code:
    http://www.astra32.com/files/astra32setup.exe
    By providing coded link to your manufacturing company was meant a link straight to the model page like this:
    Code:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=au&docname=c00893006&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_R1002_AUEN  
    How to code your links is easy just use # button from the panel when you are posting a url

    Although a check tells us that the product you mentioned Compaq Presario SR5025AN Desktop PC contains following parts:

    1.CPU: Celeron 360 (C) 3.46 GHz
    2.Motherboard : ECS 945GCT-HM
    3.LAN: Realtek RTL8101E LAN but in some boards a diff. lan card is provided (Realtek RTL8139/810x)
    3.Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio Driver
    4.Video: Intel Express Chipset Graphics Driver
    5.Modem: Conexant PCI Soft Modem Driver

    1. Drivers for chipset (motherboard) are available from intel (search 945 with onboard graphics).
    Code:
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=N&ProductID=2115&DwnldID=16023&strOSs=44&OSFullName=Windows*%20XP%20Professional&lang=eng 
    2. Graphics card drivers are also avaialble from intel.
    Code:
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=N&ProductID=2115&DwnldID=15605&strOSs=44&OSFullName=Windows*%20XP%20Professional&lang=eng
    3. Drivers for LAN are available from realtek's site(Both of them).
    Code:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=6&PFid=6&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false#RTL8100B%28L%29/RTL8100C%28L%29/RTL8101L/RTL8139C%28L%29/RTL8139C%28L%29+/RTL8139D%28L%29/RTL8100%28L%29/RTL8130/RTL8139B%28L%29
    4. Audio drivers are also available from realtek's site.
    Code:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=14&PFid=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false
    For your modem you will have to look here & choose after using ASTRA.
    Code:
    http://www.conexant.com/support/md_driverdownload.jsp
    You can find more info about drivers used in vista to search their xp version also from this page:
    Code:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=2093&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=au&lang=en&product=3401230 
    Let's hope it works.
     
  15. stormboy

    stormboy Guest

    Thanks S999 for all your help D/L them now
     

Share This Page