NitroFlare The Breath of the Symphonist Shostakovich's Tenth (Royal Musical Association Monographs, Vol 4)

Discussion in 'E-Books & Tutorials' started by kocogi, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. kocogi

    kocogi Active Member

    May 29, 2012
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:

    The Breath of the Symphonist: Shostakovich's Tenth (Royal Musical Association Monographs, Vol 4) by David Fanning
    English | Aug. 28, 1988 | ISBN: 0947854037 | 144 Pages | PDF | 3.4 MB

    In 1946 Schoenberg wrote of Sibelius and Shostakovich, 'I feel they have the breath of symphonists.

    ' This book poses the question of what exactly that 'breath' means in the context of Shostakovich's 10th Symphony (1953). Written shortly after Stalin's death, the work marks a turning point in the composer's output and in the history of Russian music, heralding the possibility of a new creative direction for Soviet artists. David Fanning's close analysis of the 10th sheds light on issues associated with the genre of the twentieth-century epic symphony, issues of structure and expression, unity and contrast. The book reveals how the work displays some of Shostakovich's most effective strategies for confronting these issues.[​IMG]
    Buy Premium From My Links To Get Resumable Support,Max Speed & Support Me
    Download ( NitroFlare )

Share This Page